Category explainer

RMMs without minimums: free tiers, per-device and month-to-month options

Victor RaessenFounder, MSP Navigator8 min read

A new or small MSP often can't commit to 50 or 150 endpoints on day one, or sign a multi-year term for an RMM. Several RMMs now publish prices with no device minimum, a free tier, or month-to-month billing. This page lists what each vendor states about minimums, terms and pricing on its own site, as checked on 21 October 2026, and flags the ones that do set a floor.

Key facts, October 2026

  • Level gives the first 10 devices free, then charges $2 per device per month, month to month, with no setup fee.
  • Action1 is free for the first 200 endpoints. It isn't a trial, but free-tier support is community-only, and pricing above 200 is by quote.
  • Tactical RMM is source-available and self-hosted. Paid sponsorship from $55 a month is needed for signed Windows agents, macOS and Linux agents and SSO.
  • NinjaOne prices per device, from $3.75 at 50 or fewer endpoints down to $1.50 at 10,000, with monthly or annual billing.
  • SuperOps sets a 150-endpoint minimum on every plan.

The short version

Billing unitPublished priceMinimumTermSetup fee
LevelPer deviceFirst 10 free, then $2 per device per monthNoneMonth to monthNone
Action1Per endpointFree up to 200 endpoints; quote aboveNoneSubscription above 200; reverts to free limit on expiryNot stated
Tactical RMMSponsorship tier$55 to $850 per month ($600 to $9,600 a year)Tier 1 for signed agents, macOS, Linux and SSOMonthly or annual sponsorshipNot stated
NinjaOnePer device$3.75 at 50 or fewer, down to $1.50 at 10,000Not statedMonthly or annual; 60 days' notice to cancelFree onboarding
Atera (MSP)Per technician, unlimited endpoints$129 per tech per month annual, $139 monthly (Pro)Not statedMonthly plans cancel any timeNone
SyncroPer technician, unlimited endpoints$129 per user per month annual, $159 monthly (Core)Not statedAnnual, month to month, or annual billed monthly; 30 days' noticeGuided onboarding
GoreloPer user, no per-endpoint fees$99 per user per month yearly (Full Platform)None stated by GoreloNo lock-in contractsNone stated by Gorelo
SuperOpsPer endpoint, unlimited techniciansNot published150 endpoints per planNot publishedFree onboarding

Per device: Level, Action1 and NinjaOne

Level is the simplest to price. The first 10 devices are free with every feature, after which it's $2 per device per month: 11 devices cost $22 a month and 50 cost $100. Billing follows your peak device count for the month, there's no annual commitment, and there are no setup or onboarding fees. Level runs one agent for Windows, macOS and Linux, needs no on-premises server, and is used for multi-tenant MSP work through groups, tags and permissions. It doesn't include ticketing or a PSA, so you'll pair it with one.

Best fit for: new MSPs that want to start free and pay per device as they add clients. Check first: your PSA integration, since Level has no ticketing of its own.

Action1 is free for the first 200 endpoints with no feature limits, and the free tier doesn't expire. The catch is support: on the free tier it's community-only through Discord unless you buy support. Above 200 endpoints you request a quote, and a 15-day trial is available for larger environments. Licences are applied at the enterprise level with multi-tenancy for MSPs, and if a paid subscription lapses, you fall back to the 200-endpoint free limit.

Best fit for: MSPs under 200 endpoints that mainly need patching and remote management and can rely on community support. Check first: the quote for when you pass 200 endpoints, and what paid support costs.

NinjaOne doesn't publish a full price list because it sells through the channel, but its pricing FAQ gives the range: from $1.50 per device per month at 10,000 endpoints up to $3.75 at 50 or fewer, varying by region and products. You can pay monthly or annually. If you aren't on a promotional commitment, you can cancel with 60 days' notice, and month-to-month billing is offered case by case. Onboarding, training and support are free, and there's a 14-day trial.

Best fit for: MSPs that want a mature RMM with free onboarding and can work with a 60-day notice period. Check first: the actual per-device price for your count and whether your quote carries a promotional commitment.

Self-hosted: Tactical RMM

Tactical RMM, maintained by AmidaWare Inc., is source-available and self-hosted, with managed hosting also offered. The software is free to run, but several features need a paid sponsorship. Tier 1, at $55 a month or $600 a year, is the minimum for code-signed Windows agents, macOS and Linux agents and single sign-on. Tier 2, at $80 a month, is the minimum for reporting. Tiers go up to $850 a month and are suggested by agent count. Free support is through Discord and GitHub, and higher tiers add email support. A seven-day hosted trial is available on request.

Best fit for: technical MSPs comfortable running their own server who want low fixed costs. Check first: that you're budgeting for at least Tier 1. Below it, Windows agents aren't code-signed and there are no macOS or Linux agents.

Per technician: Atera, Syncro and Gorelo

If you have few technicians and many endpoints, per-tech pricing can work out cheaper. Atera's MSP plans include unlimited endpoints: Pro at $129 per technician per month billed annually or $139 monthly, Growth at $159 or $189, and Power at $209 or $249. There are no setup fees, monthly plans can be cancelled any time, and the trial is 30 days. Syncro includes RMM and PSA with unlimited endpoints from $129 per user per month annually or $159 monthly; cancellation needs 30 days' notice. Gorelo lists $99 per user per month billed yearly for PSA, RMM and documentation, states no lock-in contracts, and its own comparison post says there's no minimum and no per-endpoint fee.

Best fit for: MSPs with a small team and a growing device count. Check first: the monthly-billing price, which is higher than the annual figure for each of these vendors.

The one with a floor: SuperOps

SuperOps prices per endpoint with unlimited technicians and free onboarding, but doesn't publish rates, and each plan has a minimum of 150 endpoints. Endpoints include desktops, laptops and mobile devices with an agent, plus monitored network devices.

What to check before switching

  1. What counts as a device. Level bills on peak monthly count. SuperOps counts monitored network devices. Ask each vendor how servers, VMs and network gear are counted.
  2. Notice periods. NinjaOne asks for 60 days, Syncro for 30. Level and Atera's monthly plans don't tie you in.
  3. Running two agents. Level says you can run it alongside your current RMM while you migrate. Plan scripts, policies and patch schedules before you remove the old agent.
  4. Support level. Free tiers (Action1 up to 200, Tactical RMM without sponsorship) rely on community support.
  5. PSA pairing. Level, Action1 and Tactical RMM don't include a PSA. Check that alerts create and close tickets in yours. DeskDay, for example, closes its ticket when an alert resolves in Level.
  6. Scripts and automations. Export your scripts before you leave the old RMM, and test them on the new one's agent.

Frequently asked questions

Which RMMs have no minimum device count?

Level states no minimum endpoint requirement and gives the first 10 devices free. Action1 is free for up to 200 endpoints. Gorelo states no minimum in its own comparison post. SuperOps, by contrast, has a 150-endpoint minimum per plan.

Is there a free RMM for MSPs?

Action1 is free for the first 200 endpoints, with community support only. Level is free for the first 10 devices. Tactical RMM is free to self-host, but signed Windows agents, macOS and Linux agents and SSO need at least the $55-a-month sponsorship tier.

How much does NinjaOne cost per device?

NinjaOne's pricing page says per-device pricing runs from $3.75 per month at 50 or fewer endpoints down to $1.50 at 10,000, varying by region and products. Full pricing is by quote through its sales team.

Can I pay for an RMM month to month?

Yes. Level is month to month with no annual commitment, Atera's monthly plans can be cancelled at any time, and Syncro offers month-to-month subscriptions with 30 days' notice. NinjaOne offers month-to-month case by case.

Is per-device or per-technician pricing cheaper?

It depends on your ratio of endpoints to technicians. Per-device pricing (Level, NinjaOne) grows with each client you add. Per-tech pricing (Atera, Syncro, Gorelo) stays flat as endpoints grow but costs more per seat. Work it out with your own numbers.


Prices and terms come from each vendor's own pricing pages and documentation, fetched on 21 October 2026 and listed in our sources file. Confirm current pricing before you commit. Related: RMM Platforms, RMM platforms for MSPs, HaloPSA alternatives for small MSPs.